High Fidelity (2000)

Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?

Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?

Directed by: Stephen Frears (I enjoyed Tamara Drewe (mostly because Gemma Arterton, duh) but other than this movie, his other best movie would be The Grifters)

Written by: The screenplay was written by D.V. DeVincentis, Steve Pink, John Cusack and Scott Rosenberg based off of Nick Hornby’s book of the same name.

Starring: John Cusack, Iben Hjejle, Jack Black, Todd Louiso, Joan Cusack, Tim Robbins, Lisa Bonet, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Sara Gilbert, Lili Taylor, Joelle Carter, Natasha Gregson Wagner and Alex Désert.

What it’s about: after breaking up with his girlfriend, a music-obsessed guy searches for the reasons behind his miserable life

B-Movie Alternate Title: Me and My Record Store Pals

What I liked: I have never tried to write a review of this movie.  For many years I thought it would be tantamount to sacrilege to actually speak of why I love it and how much it has influenced so much of my adult life.  I was afraid that I would not be able to do it justice to my movie and music snob friends, and I would actually just end up inviting scorn upon myself by attempting to put words to what is essentially the defining film of how I view things.  I don’t feel entirely that way anymore.  Hell, I read a few Pitchfork reviews once and was immediately glad that I never became that pretentious of a music/movie lover.  There is so much about this movie that I love, that I cannot put it into words.  Doing my research, I became incredibly annoyed that it was not nominated for an Oscar in the Best Adapted Screenplay category because the adaptation is stunningly great.  There is no way that a movie in which the main character regularly breaks the fourth wall could be good, but here we are and it is great.  This movie made – for better or for worse – Jack Black’s career, with his scene-stealing performance as Barry, and I’m a bit saddened that the same thing didn’t happen to Todd Louiso because he is the perfect Dick.  This is one of John Cusack’s most iconic roles, and while it may not be as lovable a character as Lloyd Dobler in Say Anything…, it is certainly a character that more of us can identify with, even more nowadays than back in 2000.

What I disliked: I’m not a huge fan of Iben Hjejle’s performance.  Out of all the parts in the movie, she seems to be the only one miscast.  In my opinion is all!

Would I recommend it to anyone?: Yes.  Especially women.  This movie reveals so much about the insecure stupid thoughts that guys think, it is like research material for how to figure out any man.  Well, maybe not any man.  Men like me, I guess.  In which case, why bother, right?

Rating: 5 / 5

Can it be any more Cusackian?

Can it be any more Cusackian?

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

