The Princess Bride (1987)

Directed by: Rob Reiner (the man has made some great movies, most notably this one and – in my books – The American President and Stand By Me)

Written by: William Goldman adapted his own novel to the screen

Starring: Cary Elwes, Robin Wright, André the Giant, Mandy Patinkin, Wallace Shawn, Christopher Guest, Chris Sarandon, Billy Crystal, Carol Kane, Peter Falk and Fred Savage.

What it’s about: true love, and if you do not know what The Princess Bride is about, stop everything and find it and watch it

B-Movie Alternate Title: A Farmboy Pirate’s Love Story

Movie Mash Up: shut up, there is no movie like The Princess Bride

What I liked: EVERYTHING.  The movie is amazing.  It is one of the most eminently quotable movies ever made, it is funny, it is romantic, there’s action, there’s wit, there’s decent acting, André the Giant is in it!  Great soundtrack/score, dry British humour mixed with absurdity and why are you not re-watching this right now?  Or – heaven forbid – watching it for the first time?  It is one of my Top Five Movies of All Time, something I have probably watched 20-30 times in my life, and each time I do I love it.  I could never love a woman that didn’t love The Princess Bride.

What I disliked: Get the hell outta here with that question for this movie.

Would I recommend it to anyone?: A billion times yes.

Rating: 5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

