Brave (2012)

Directed by: Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman (Chapman directed The Prince of Egypt which I have never seen, and Andrews the Pixar short One Man Band)

Written by: Andrews, Chapman, Steve Purcell and Irene Mecchi

Starring: Kelly Macdonald, Billy Connolly, Emma Thompson, Julie Walters, Robbie Coltrane, Craig Ferguson and John Ratzenberger, all voice credits for this animated film.

What it’s about: a young tomboyish Scottish princess rebels against her mother’s wishes to submit to an arranged marriage

B-Movie Alternate Title: I Turned My Mother Into a Bear

Movie Mash Up: Brother Bear + any number of Disney Princess movies + Robin Hood (the animated Disney version)

What I liked: Well it’s a non-Cars Pixar movie, so that is one thing I greatly appreciated.  The animation looks gorgeous, as usual.  The character design is wonderful, and the voice acting great for the appearances of the characters, leading me to believe that I will never truly find love unless it is with a fiery red-haired Scottish lass.  I KEEP SEARCHING.  Parts of the movie hit the Pixar mark for making my eyes tear up a little, but nothing to the extent of Up or WALL•E.

What I disliked: The plot twist which I somewhat SPOILERishly revealed in the B-Movie Alternate Title.  There’s a point where the story goes a little bit off the rails and smacks of Disney, but thankfully it mostly recovered by the end.  The title of the film makes me think that at some point the story was far more epic and grand than what the end result was.

Would I recommend it to anyone?: Yes, though it isn’t really in the pantheon of GREAT Pixar movies.  It’s good, near great, but unlike most Pixar movies I don’t immediately want to watch it again and again.

Rating: 3.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

