Magic Mike (2012)

Directed by: Steven Soderbergh (he has directed numerous great films, but for me, his best work will probably always be Out of Sight, one of my Top Five Movies of All Time)

Written by: Reid Carolin

Starring: Channing Tatum, Alex Pettyfer, Cody Horn, Adam Rodriguez, Riley Keough, Olivia Munn, Kevin Nash and Matthew McConaughey

What it’s about: a group of male strippers and their lives off of the stage

B-Movie Alternate Title: Magic Mike and the Boys

Movie Mash Up: Ocean’s ElevenDear JohnThe Full Monty

What I liked: Dammit, Channing Tatum is a charming and talented actor.  Every time I want to dismiss him as nothing more than a slab of meat that drives the ladies wild (“panty soup”), he  finds a way to deliver a line effortlessly and in a real fashion that appeals to the movie critic in me.  Olivia Munn’s boobs.  Hmm, what else did I like?  It was a good story, and one that will only make a heterosexual man more confident in his sexuality, because there is a lot of gyrating, and naked, oiled dude torsos and if that doesn’t do ANYTHING for you, this movie will confirm it for you.  Not that I was in doubt, mind you.  The movie looks gorgeous as well, and feels alive, compared to Soderbergh’s Haywire which didn’t really.

What I disliked: All the oiled dude torsos.  Nah, that was just part of the story (and I watch WWE every week, so I’m fairly desensitized to it), but yeah, the story is a fairly bit predictable, enjoyable though.

Would I recommend it to anyone?: Sure.  Seriously, dudes, suggest watching it with a lady friend of yours and they will probably throw themselves at you.  Or at least they will in the screenplay I am going to write.

Rating: 4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

