The Blair Witch Project (1999)

Directed by: Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sánchez (they’ve really done nothing noteworthy aside from this movie)

Written by: Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sánchez

Starring: Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard and Michael C. Williams

What it’s about: the first super popular “found footage” movie, which shows what happened to three filmmakers when they went missing during a camping trip for their documentary about the local legend, The Blair Witch

B-Movie Alternate Title: Lurking In the Woods

Movie Mash Up: Paranormal ActivityDeliveranceThe Children

What I liked: I love this movie.  It is one of my favourite horror movies of all time.  I love everything about it.  Everything that most everyone else hates about it, I love.  It’s one film that truly benefits from watching with the commentary on a second time.  You gain a greater appreciation for everything that went into it.  And fuck anyone that tells you it isn’t scary.  I just watched this in the dark by myself.  If someone would have knocked on my door while I was watching it, I would have screamed.  And how is it that this movie looks better than 28 Days Later… did?  This is an older DVD, based off of film stock.  Blows my mind.  I love that there is no way this movie would seem plausible now, not even 15 years later.  I love that the documentary actors seemed so real.

What I disliked: That I usually end up watching this movie by myself.  Only time I watched it with someone, it was a first date.  Strangely enough, I got laid that night.  It’s 79 minutes long, and the pacing and acting and everything is perfect for the type of movie it is.  Which is to say that you have to suspend disbelief to believe that it truly did happen.  Which is perfectly fine, since we do it for every other movie anyways, but nooooo people want stupid scares.  This is why we can’t have nice things, people.

Would I recommend this to anyone?: No.  At the risk of coming across as a pretentious critic, this movie isn’t for everyone.  It is fucking excellent, but most people won’t see that, won’t be able to make that suspension jump or will get bogged down in the shaky camerawork or some other mundane detail.

Rating: 5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

