Prometheus (2012)

Directed by: Ridley Scott (never been a big fan of his, but Matchstick Men was quite great)

Written by: Jon Spaihts and Damon Lindelof

Starring: Michael Fassbender, Noomi Rapace, Charlize Theron, Idris Elba, Guy Pearce, Logan Marshall-Green, Sean Harris, Rafe Spall, and Patrick Wilson.

What it’s about: sort of an Alien prequel, where humans go to a faraway planet to investigate what may be the origins of our species

B-Movie Alternate Title: Spaceship to Our Past

Movie Mash Up: SunshineAlienMoon

What I liked: it looks gorgeous, and I’m a big fan of a lot of the actors involved.  I’m not a huge sci-fi nerd, but the story was interesting and not at all as confusing as I had been led to believe.  Unless I missed something.  Michael Fassbender was great, and I always want more Idris Elba scenes in everything.

What I disliked: stupid movie tropes, like running away from something that is about to crush you in a straight line.  VEER off to the side, and it won’t crush you.  Idiots.  Not to mention all the other tropes.  So many, it might as well have been a stock horror movie.  Also, a bit of the score reminded me heavily of The Dark Crystal and since I loved that movie greatly, I was annoyed by it.

Would I recommend this to anyone?: Not really.  I’m sure there are a lot of Alien references in there for all those fanboys and girls, but it didn’t do anything for me.  It can stand on its own as a separate film well enough.  It’s not a super intelligent movie or anything, and if you like sci-fi stuff, there’s plenty in it for you to drool over.

Rating: 3.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

