We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011)

Directed by: Lynne Ramsay (have never seen one of her films before, and it’s hard to say if I want to after watching this one)

Written by: Ramsay and Rory Kinnear, based off of Lionel Shriver’s 2003 novel of the same name

Starring: Tilda Swinton, John C. Reilly, Ezra Miller, Siobhan Fallon

What it’s about: told in a non-linear fashion, shows a mother coming to grips with the actions of her high school-aged son

B-Movie Alternate Title: Kevin: The Devil Child

Movie Mash Up: a bunch of movies I haven’t personally watched but know what they’re about, I guess.  Sorry, it’s an interesting movie, but hard to really say what it is like.

What I liked: the acting is terrific across the board, but let’s just pull Tilda Swinton and Ezra Miller out and say without their performances, the movie wouldn’t be near as good.  The non-linear storytelling works, as it reveals and then pulls back, giving you questions and holding back on the answers.  Well shot, haunting.

What I disliked: well Miller was so good that I ended up hating his character, not to mention Jasper Newell as the younger Kevin.  Holy shit did I want to punch the hell out of this character.  Greatly disliked it, but that’s a compliment because good acting.  One of those movies that is good, but you never really want to watch again unless You Have Problems.  Also, sometimes I am okay with ambiguity, but I wanted answers to some of my questions in regards to Kevin.

Would I recommend it to everyone?: Nope, it’s super dark (not at all the indie slacker comedy I thought it was going to be by the title), and it deals with sensitive subject matter to some people.  It’s a hard watch, and again, nothing you should ever want to watch again.

Rating: 4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

