Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story (2007)

True confession time, first time I reviewed Walk Hard, I completely didn’t get it and only gave it a 3.  Truthfully, at the time I was going through a stubborn, stuck-up movie critic phase and didn’t fully realise what it was I saw.  I’ve watched it a few times since then, and each viewing gives me a deeper appreciation of the creativity that went into creating this character, this legendary rock star that lived an epic life.  Now, I’ve absorbed a lot of pop culture information since the first time I walked hard, so that depth of awareness certainly helps when it comes to appreciating the brilliance of Judd Apatow and Jake Kasdan’s story.

At this point, I wish I were a better writer so I could go into great detail about how wonderful this movie is.  Sometimes it’s hard to find the words to why you love something, which makes it doubly frustrating when you see something you hate and just rant on and on about it.  Walk Hard is a completely over the top biopic of a fictional rock star named Dewey Cox (John C. Reilly), and it borrows from the life stories of many a legendary musician biopic.  There are so many “name” actors in this movie that I think I’ve set a new personal record for tags.  They might just show up for less than a minute, but there is so much to enjoy about every minute of this movie, and it is still laugh out loud funny for me, five years after first seeing it.

Trust me, this is a truly great, under-appreciated gem of a movie, one whose songs are such spot on homages to the time periods they come from that it is unbelievable that they weren’t Oscar-nominated..

4.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

