Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011)

Here’s a quick rundown of the Mission: Impossible movie series in my opinion: the first one was very good, the second one should have been called Mission: Improbable, and the third one was decent enough, but seemed far too knowing and self-referential for me to truly think it great.  Ever since the second one, I haven’t been excited about a new M:I movie at all, though they always find a way to make me want to get excited about it.  Philip Seymour Hoffman in the third one, Jeremy Renner and Brad Bird directing in this one?  DAMN YOUSE GUYS.  However, it’s always offset by the starring of Tom Cruise, which I then have to get over.  My life is so difficult.

M:I-GP – besides being one of the most annoying titles to acronymize (which apparently isn’t a word) – is chock full of intrigue, action, gadgetry, foreign locations (to most of us I imagine, but if you’re a reader from Russia, hey let me know) and terrifying explosions.  None of it is really all that surprising, but it’s still a great action movie.  I’m not going to go into great detail about the story, actually no detail about the story because whatever, it’s a Mission: Impossible movie, you know what you’re getting into.

Brad Bird has made a great action movie, which is amazing from a guy whose experience has been almost solely in animation.  There’s even a bit of heart to this movie, but it all comes near the end so it doesn’t weigh too heavily upon the ridiculous action sequences that precede it.  Solid movie, enjoyable.

4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

