Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)

I have decided to go back in time.  Once you have read this, it will have changed, unless the Internet really is forever.  I’m going back in time to convince studios to make nothing but Paul Newman / Robert Redford films directed by George Roy Hill, forever.  When I have done this, the cinematic history of the world will have changed and every movie ever made will be awesome.  Redford as Luke Skywalker, Newman as Han Solo, then Indiana Jones, though Redford could never pull off Short Round.  You can put Newman and Redford in any co-male leads in pretty much any movie ever and I will gladly plunk down money to watch it.  A Night at the Roxbury starring an elderly Redford and Newman?  HERE IS MY MONEY.

I realise that my opening paragraph may seem crazy to some readers, and those are readers that have probably not been lucky enough to watch The Sting or this movie.  The movie partnership of Redford and Newman is nothing short of excellent.  The dynamic the two of them have together defies my words for description (IS GOOD!).  And George Roy Hill has impressed me so much as a director that I wish I had seen more of his films.  This is a man that is an underrated genius in my eyes.  Seriously.  Fuck Stanley Kubrick, give me a George Roy Hill movie ANY DAY OF THE WEEK.

This review is just nonsense gushing, but let me assure you that it is all deserved.  Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid deserves every word of praise ever given it, and I’m curious if Roger Ebert would change his negative opinion on it if he were to watch it again.  Goddamn such a great movie.

5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

2 Responses to Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)

  1. mslibbyking says:

    Great movie. How fun moving around in this era. It reminds me of Steve McQueen films like The Getaway – but maybe that’s because you mentioned Ocean’s Eleven and that makes me think of The Thomas Crown Affair – I’m not even sure if they’re connected anywhere but in my head …

    Anyway, I’m commenting to say that the thing I love the most about this movie is the soundtrack – Bacharach at his best – great Saturday morning music 🙂

    • SkoochXC says:

      The score is quite wonderful, but even better than the score/soundtrack is that the director wasn’t afraid to let silence take over scenes. So many Westerns nowadays always go the route of loud, triumphant anthems for riding a goddamn horse. George Roy Hill just let some images speak for themselves.

Leave a Reply

