Winnie the Pooh (2011)

I was never a big Winnie the Pooh fan.  Those parts in “Kingdom Hearts” where you go to the 100-Acre Wood were annoying to me, and I just can’t get behind such a selfish bear, all stuffed with fluff.  I barely remember anything about the Pooh movies back in the day, other than I didn’t think they were actual theatrical releases, just broadcast on The Wonderful World of Disney or something.  However, as soon as I started up Winnie the Pooh, I was instantly familiar with everything going on.

In fact, I’m not convinced that this production actually contains any new animation.  Everything that took place, I seem to remember snippets of from back in the day.  All kidding aside, it’s apparently three A.A. Milne Pooh stories combined, and thankfully the overall arc focuses on Eeyore, otherwise known as The Best One.  Apparently the animation was hand animated on a computer which does not make sense to me as terminology, but whatever.

The movie features some lovely breathy songs sung by Zooey Deschanel, and overall, it’s not a terrible movie at all.  It’s just a non-gritty reboot and should be very welcoming to all Pooh fans.

3.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

