The Descendants (2011)

I wanted to use this review to sing the praises of Alexander Payne, and how much I love his movies that feel real and are unflinchingly painful.  I wanted to sit here and tell you all about how I don’t think George Clooney will ever be in a terrible movie, again (personally, I think The Good German was terrible).  I wanted to do a lot of things when I sat down to write this review, tell you about how great the writing team of Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash are, how their Oscar win was well-deserved.  I wanted to write a review befitting this great movie, but sometimes I just don’t know how to find the write tone or schtick or whatever.  It’s a great movie, probably too slow for most people, probably too sad for others, probably too real for the rest.  It’s wonderfully acted, gorgeously shot, and would rank highly in a definitive Best of 2011 list from me.  Enjoy it, when you can.

4.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

