Young Adult (2011)

After watching this movie, I didn’t really know how I felt about it.  I still don’t.  It felt like one of the shortest movies I’d ever watched, but maybe that was just because I expected there to be more.  I’m a movie watcher, you know, I can appreciate an ambiguous ending that I have to decide about myself.  It just seemed… broken at the end, I don’t know.  Maybe it was that I identified so much with the characters that I didn’t want it to be good, didn’t want to actually own that sadness.  I’m going to stop psychoanalyzing myself now.

Firstly, the movie is directed by Jason Reitman and I’ve loved all of his movies so far.  Secondly, written by Diablo Cody, and she’s hit or miss with me.  Thirdly, solid cast, as Charlize Theron does have great acting chops and is alright with showing off her ugly side (see Monster, actually, don’t, because other than her performance, not a good movie).  Plus, Patton Oswalt puts forward a great performance that probably is slightly over-praised because well, this character that he’s playing I’m sure he’s got loads of experience with.

For me, it’s not a memorable movie.  It’s not a movie that people will still be quoting five years down the line like Cody’s Juno is.  It features great performances, but altogether the movie doesn’t feel like it has a point of view, at least for me.  There’s probably people that love it, I don’t know, I just saw it as a beautiful person acting ugly, desperate and hurtful.  It’s nothing I’ll ever want to watch again.

3 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

