The Rum Diary (2011)

Enghhhh.  I really don’t see what most of the world sees in Johnny Depp.  There’s never once been a Depp movie where I thought “YES I WILL GLADLY PLUNK DOWN MY MONEY TO WATCH HIM SMOLDER ON SCREEN!”  I’m not saying he’s talentless, I think he’s an alright actor, but ehn, just no.  He’s one of those actors like Jamie Foxx where as soon as I see that they’re in a movie, I pretty much lose all interest in that movie.  Then you factor in the overrated Hunter S. Thompson… actually, let me rephrase that.  No, wait, I can’t.  The only other Thompson experience I’ve had was with the horrible Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and that was horrible.

So apparently this movie is based off of Thompson’s book of the same name, and it involves an American journalist, Paul Kemp (Depp) going down to Puerto Rico in the 60s or something.  I honestly don’t know what the point of the movie was.  Some stuff happened, then Kemp and his buddy Bob Sala (Michael Rispoli) put drugs in their eyes and they sort of trip out and Amber Heard is in it, but I don’t think she got naked unless that was during the time I fell asleep.  To be fair, I have been working a new work schedule that is affecting my ability to stay awake.

This seemed to be the film equivalent of “On the Road” by Jack Kerouac, a few things happen that are connected somehow to one another but are barely interesting.  I’m supposed to care because these banal events are inspiring the budding novelist in Kemp.  I didn’t hate it, but I’ll never watch it again, and I’ll never recommend it to anyone.  Amber Heard was in your movie and she didn’t get naked!  BOoo hiss.  I will give credit to Giovanni Ribisi and Richard Jenkins and Rispoli for being the most interesting people in the movie.

2.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

