Where the Wild Things Are (2009)

Thanks to my ex-girlfriend, I’ll always have a bittersweet attachment to this movie, and to anything Maurice Sendak-related.  She had a kid, an insane 3-year-old named Emmit or Emmet, some variation or another.  He was a total Max, roughhousing and yelling and such, and my desire for order and teaching him discipline and that he can’t always get his own way, well that led to my downfall.  One of the last bits of communication from my ex was a text saying that she was watching Where the Wild Things Are and bawling her eyes out.  Combine those emotional feelings I have towards the movie with the way the actual movie makes me feel and I’m just glad I don’t have beer now.  I’d be a wreck.

Spike Jonze had made two wonderful films before this one, the amazing Being John Malkovich and the bizarrely meta Adaptation.  The latter is harder to love for me, but the first is just, well, wonderful summed it up enough.  Jonze was personally selected by Sendak – the author of the book that inspired many a childhood miscreant – to adapt his much beloved tale to the screen after it had been tumbling about in development hell for decades.  After much wrangling with Warner Brothers over the content of the movie, artistic integrity won out and Jonze was given more money to complete the movie the way he envisioned it.

And what a vision it is.  My first impression of Max (Max Records) was that there was no way I was going to be able to tolerate that child for the length of the movie.  He was an attention whore, constantly demanding his mom (Catherine Keener) to play around with him, since it appeared Max didn’t have many, or possibly any friends.  One night Max loses control and takes off, soon arriving in a distant place populated by, well, The Wild Things.  And then the movie takes you on an emotional trip, exploring childhood issues galore, with monsters that would look out of place in anything but a Spike Jonze movie.

I loved it.  I thought it was just an epic expansion of Sendak’s rather thin book, and it captured so much spirit, so much life and so much childhood heartache that I don’t care who you are, if you don’t like this movie well you’re kinda dead inside and I’m sad for you.  There there.

5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

