Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels (1998)

After watching Sherlock Holmes yesterday, I decided upon a new sort of format for this blog.  And just now I decided to not completely go with it.  I’m a flip-flopper!  I was going to say that if I had access to them, I’d watch movies in franchises and themes or directors, etc. some sort of tangential thing tying them together.  Then I decided that’s too much work, and it doesn’t necessarily give me the opportunity to still watch movies I want to watch.  And occasionally, I’m going to watch movies I don’t want to watch because a blog featuring just somewhat positive movie reviews is boring.  Which is why I’ll be watching shit like I Don’t Know How She Does It, and yes I am fully prepared to eat my judgmental words if it doesn’t suck.  Like that’ll happen.

Anyways, this is writer and director Guy Ritchie’s theatrical film debut, and much like Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction did for Quentin Tarantino, the release of Lock, Stock ended up with a bunch of movies being released that were Ritchie-esque.  Mostly forgettable affairs across the pond here.  Lock, Stock wasn’t just Ritchie’s debut, as also Jason Statham and Vinnie Jones also made their acting debuts.  The premise behind the movie is that four young lads get in over their heads and lose a tonne of money to a local heavy and then resort to shady dealings to save their own arses.  There’s a vast cast of supporting characters, and everyone figures into the climatic scenes.  It’s quite well done, actually.

There’s nothing really superb about the acting in the movie, though Statham certainly stands out, as does the late Lenny McLean who died one month before the film saw release.  When you’re watching a movie with a diverse ensemble cast, it’s not the acting performances that move the movie along, it’s the story and the roles the actors play and it’s a solid achievement that with a cast as large as this movie has, it’s not a confusing movie at all.

The film was shot in what appears to be a washed-out sepia tone style, somewhat like O Brother, Where Art Thou? and it’s odd that I never really noticed it in previous viewings.  All worship the might of Blu-Ray!  It’s a fun, clever, heist romp that I would recommend to all.

4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

