Warrior (2011)

It’s not too often that I finish watching a movie and almost immediately want to watch it over again.  It’s not too often that I watch a movie and immediately praise it as my probable movie of the year.  I’ve watched nine movies this year that I have rated full marks, five out of five, perfect, would watch again.  Funnily enough, one of them was The Fighter, and that’s the easiest comparison to make, that Warrior evokes many of the same themes and such, but if I’m being completely honest, I think Warrior‘s the better movie.  Five point one.

The funny thing is, it’s a movie rife with sports movie clichés, about a sport that I don’t have more than a passing knowledge of, with a predictable finale that I called within the first twenty or so minutes.  And I loved it.  If I’m permitted – and why the hell wouldn’t I be, it’s my blog – I’m going to reference pro wrestling here.  The best comparison I have for it would probably be the 1990 Royal Rumble.  Hulk Hogan and The Ultimate Warrior (unrelated to this movie) were entrants in it, and the match was perfectly booked to have them both in the ring against each other for the first time.  Oh also, SPOILER ALERT if you thought pro wrestling was real.

I’m not even going to tell you about the story, because relating the characters to you will just make you piece together the story yourself.  Watch this movie.  It has Tom Hardy at his most TOM HARDIEST.  Noah Emmerich does his trademark “you know, I enjoy being the asshole of the project” performance.  Former wrestler (haha if you think TNA counts) Kurt Angle is in it, ironically as a Russian Olympian gold medalist (Angle won a gold in ’96 for U S A).  Nick Nolte!  Joel Edgerton who was excellent with his less than twenty minutes of screen time in Animal Kingdom.

Look, this isn’t me being a wrestling fanboy biased film reviewer.  Warrior – right now – is my choice for my movie of the year, not just 2011 movie of the year.  Out of the nearly 365 movies I’ve watched so far, none of them touched me as much as this one.  As of this writing, I only have eight more movies to watch to complete my goal.  There would have to be one hell of a movie in that eight to dethrone Warrior at this point.

5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

