Enter the Void (2010)

I really don’t know what to say about this movie.  At times it is pretentious, dark, traumatic, filthy, gorgeous, psychedelic, and most of all tedious.  It was written and directed by Irréversible’s Gaspar Noé, and if you’ve seen that movie, you probably know why I put off watching this thing for over four months.  His movies are not trifling things to just wade into nonchalantly.  You have to brace yourself, and at two and a half hours, that’s a lot of bracing to undergo.

I’m not going to sit here and pretend to know exactly what the hell was going on through the movie, nor am I going to provide my own interpretations for what I just saw.  If I was approaching this as a mainstream movie watcher, I would have turned it off far before the ending, and even being the hardened vet that I am, I was still tempted.  It is not an enjoyable picture to immerse yourself in, but that does not mean that it is without merit.

There are some gorgeous scenes shot throughout, and there are some that illicit outright guffaws of disbelief.  The story is .. dude, I don’t even know.  I would not recommend the film to anyone, unless they’re willing to sit through some messed up psychologically stuff.  I am not providing a good outline of what this movie is, but if I’ve somehow sparked interest from you, read the plot summary on the Wiki and decide for yourself if you want to see it.

Having watched this movie though, I am convinced that Paz de la Huerta is allergic to clothing.

3 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

