Tilt: The Battle to Save Pinball (2006)

Like some kind of masochistic freak, I’m a big fan of pinball games.  On my PS3, I’ve got the Zen Pinball and Marvel Pinball tables downloaded to my hard drive, and I owned the Williams Pinball Collection game as well.  However, I’m not nearly as good as I wish I could be at them, leading to many hours of frustration and accusations of cheating at the game, not to mention how cheap they’re set up sometimes I MEAN REALLY COME ON!  I also don’t go to arcades anymore (do they still exist?) and so my only avenue to play pinball games is in the simulated form and while bacon bits might taste good, they’re no substitution for the real thing.

Anyways, apparently real pinball cabinets aren’t being mass produced as much as they were back in their heyday, and this documentary (also known as The Future of Pinball at IMDb) explores how this tragic event (#firstworldproblems) came to pass.  Written and directed by Greg Maletic, Tilt goes through the history of pinball machines from, well, the very beginnings in the late 1800s and so on through the various iterations and industry-wide changes that took place until the relative present day.

It’s well told, though a bit dry.  The pinball developers interviewed are informative enough, and there’s plenty of archival footage to enjoy as well.  I liked swearing at the Space Shuttle pinball table they showed, because FUCK THAT GAME.  Anyways, it’s enjoyable, though clocking in at just under an hour you definitely want more.

3.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

