The Good German (2006)

Look, before I sit down and type out a review about this black and white movie that was intended to be a return to the old Hollywood techniques, let me assure you that I have some idea of what I’m talking about.  I’ve seen Casablanca, and it is one of the most excellent movies I’ve ever watched in my life.  It is old-timey with a modern feel and how that was accomplished I have no idea.  You should only be able to go the other way, but lo and behold, Casablanca did it awesomely.

This Steven Soderbergh-directed movie though, does not.  Yeah it looks gorgeous, and it (mostly) adheres to the standards and practices of the old 1940s movies (aside from nudity and the fuck word being used) but it feels more like a gimmick than it does an actual part of the film.  It’s basically 3D, an unnecessary addition that at best is mildly impressive to either snobby film critics (5-year-old children and stoners in the case of 3D), and at worst is distracting enough to take you out of the movie and maybe, just maybe, not care about it at all.

I love film noir movies.  L.A. Confidential is one of my favourite movies of all time, and there’s a tone throughout the whole of L.A. Confidential that perfectly captured the era, without having to resort to black and white, decreased aspect ratio, boom mics, and all the other restrictions placed on the filming of The Good German.  I know Soderbergh enjoys experimenting in film, but this was just boring.  And casting Tobey Maguire as someone that’s sorta supposed to be a hardass is just terrible miscasting.  Maguire should be Peter Parker or the kid from Pleasantville for the rest of his life and that would be fine, because he is The Squeaky-Voiced Teen.  I cannot buy him as anything else.

It’s a great looking movie and features decent performances but so boring and uninteresting to me.

2 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

