The Wackness (2008)

Watching The Wackness sent me through a variety of emotions.  It’s set in the summer of 1994, New York City, and Luke Shapiro (Josh Peck) is freshly graduated from high school, off to college in the fall and just “chillin'” for the summer.  It’s Luke’s coming of age tale, and he spends it selling pot, going to his therapist, Dr. Jeffrey Squires (Ben Kingsley), and hanging out and ultimately falling in love with Squires’ step-daughter, Stephanie (Olivia Thirlby).  It’s a gorgeously shot movie, perfectly capturing those long summer days, those gorgeous nights, and discovering what it’s like to fall for someone for the first time.

Now I don’t smoke pot.  I tried it a couple times back in high school and … nothing.  I got nothing off of it.  I don’t know if it’s my metabolism or I wasn’t doing it right or whatever.  Point is, I enjoyed my drinking, and still do.  I choose not to partake because well, if I’m not going to get anything off of it, let someone who will enjoy it.  I have been told many times that I should smoke pot, that it would mellow me out, etc. and yeah, while I see some of the intrinsic benefits of that, I’d rather not smell like a skunk everywhere I go and it is still an illegal drug.

Watching this movie kinda made me want to try it again.  That isn’t to say that The Wackness romanticizes drug use or anything, but the vibe and the feelings the film evoked in me, just made me more receptive to trying it again.  But I have to say that there were many more factors in those feelings.  Wanting to be back in my coming-of-age origin, wishing I took a different path, watching the mistakes my parents made to fuck up my mindset about things, wishing I was still relatively innocent and experiencing those things all over again.  Hell, at this point, I’d welcome a good heartbreak just so I can feel something more than the dull ache of my everydays, wishing I had a job, money, and beer to get over it.

I wish I had my own Ben Kingsley back then.

4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

