Mr. Popper’s Penguins (2011)

Preposterous.  Poppycock.  Predictable.  I get that it is an adaptation of a children’s book, and – as some movies prove and Where the Wild Things Are defies – a minimal amount of prose needs a lot of puffing up to become a full length feature film.  YES, there will be a plethora of p words presented in this entry.  Perhaps because it was a theme oft repeated throughout the movie and I’m working it out of my system so I don’t become more emotionally crippled than I already am.  PERHAPS.

Apparently a grown man letting six penguins live with him in the metro New York City area is not complete madness, or at least this movie would lead you to believe such a thing.  Popper (Jim Carrey) and his precocious family completely accept and propagate that premise, while the supporting cast are all essentially villains because OF COURSE penguins in NYC are perfectly plausible and possible.  Also, it seems like no one in this movie ever watched March of the Penguins.

Anyways, it might be a perfectly fine movie to watch with your kids, I don’t know, because I don’t have any.  But if I did, I wouldn’t perpetrate a punishable offence by allowing them to watch this movie.  It’s pretty standard fare, but I don’t know what demographic it is shooting for as a lot of the subject matter would only resonate with adults and the kid’s stuff is pretty banal for an adult to sit through.  I guess I’ll give it a passing grade, as it isn’t the worst thing I’ve seen, but far from pleasant anyways.

2.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

