Shaolin Soccer (2001)

I was a huge fan of director and writer Stephen Chow’s Kung Fu Hustle, and I had heard many a great thing about his previous movie, Shaolin Soccer, so I bought it sight unseen one day at work.  When I worked at hmv, which – if you know me – was three years ago this month.  And I never watched it until now.  Sometimes you just have to be in the right mood to watch a certain kind of movie, and foreign language films generally require a high level of paying attention to, thanks to the subtitles and such.

It’s hard for me to accurately judge this movie, as the subtitles are laughingly bad, and I generally hate watching audio dubs.  I look forward to one day re-purchasing it as a blu-ray version where they will actually care about doing a thorough job with the details and such.  However, I think I got the gist of everything, and it is a visually stunning movie, especially considering that at this point it’s ten years old.  There’s some tremendously funny scenes throughout, and a general aura of zany wackiness pervades everything.  Chow is excellent as the lead, bringing wonderful charisma to the part and really, I would highly recommend the movie.

However, if you haven’t seen Kung Fu Hustle yet, see that first, then come back to Shaolin Soccer.  You’ll have a better idea of what you’re in for, and Hustle is – in my opinion – a more accessible movie.

4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

4 Responses to Shaolin Soccer (2001)

  1. Matthew says:

    Huh. I was just considering reviewing this earlier today. If I ever have need to name my own team in a sports video game I always go with Team Evil because of this movie.

  2. SkoochXC says:

    I’d look forward to reading your thoughts on the film. A lot of your reviews are of movies I’ve never seen before and my eyes kinda glaze over and I feel bad for watching fucking Old Dogs instead.

  3. Matthew says:

    I can’t say I really blame you, or anyone, for not watching direct to video vampire movies or Roger Corman sci-fi movies made on a budget of $3.87.

  4. SkoochXC says:

    However, I have watched almost all the direct to video WWE Studios releases and OH NO I kinda liked them in a handicapped kid charming kinda way. I can’t wait ’til this year is over.

Leave a Reply

