Bad Teacher (2011)

It was with mixed feelings and trepidation that I sat down to watch Bad Teacher.  Would it live up to its predecessor Bad Santa and create a whole Bad Franchise?  Would I be able to watch the increasingly-leatherish Cameron Diaz in high definition, fondly recalling her introductory scene in The Mask and try not to cry a little?  Would I be entertained and would I even like it?  So many questions, so little Internet space.

Basically Diaz’s character, Elizabeth Halsey, is the worst teacher ever for so many reasons, and she’s a gold-digging tramp as well.  She’s looking for the easy ride, get-rich quick schemes and stuff, just so she can get a boob job and then hook a really rich guy.  The charming Jason Segel is the gym teacher, Lucy Punch is the overbearingly and psychotic nice teacher, John Michael Higgins the harried principal and Justin Timberlake is a substitute teacher.  There are also children in the movie.

I really thought it was going to suck, but it didn’t, so hurrah!  It’s not as funny as it probably could be, but the writing team of Lee Eisenberg and Gene Stupnitsky bring plenty of their experience from “The Office” to the table and they created a fairly charming movie in my books.  I’m as surprised as you are.  There’s loads of comedic talents in the cast, and despite being a total cunt at the beginning of the movie, Diaz kinda grows on you by the end.  JUST LIKE BILLY BOB THORNTON IN Bad Santa!  Watch that too!

3.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

2 Responses to Bad Teacher (2011)

  1. Matthew says:

    My review would be pretty much identical to yours. And I agree that Cameron Diaz is not going to age well.

    I’d still hit it though. I suspect you would too.

  2. SkoochXC says:

    Your review would have a lot more words and pictures in it. And yeah, I’d hit it, but I’d probably be telling her to shut the hell up a lot.

Leave a Reply

