The Ledge (2011)

For awhile I was going through a sort of religious crisis.  A lot of people sit around and ruminate on the existence of God or the other various deities that exist throughout our world.  For me, it was deciding whether or not I was Agnostic or an Atheist.  Agnosticism seemed like the lazy man’s version of atheism, so for awhile I was on board with that, but then I read some actual definitions and discovered that I am an atheist.  Please don’t pray for me.

Anyways, The Ledge is a lot like Phone Booth in that we don’t really know what put this person into the situation they’re in, but let’s see how it plays out.  There’s no Kiefer Sutherland in The Ledge, but we get “Sons of Anarchy” star Charlie Hunnam instead.  I’m alright with that, as I dig “SoA” and Hunnam is a decent enough actor in my books.  The weird thing about his performance in this movie is that there are many extended periods where he’s smiling and genuinely seems happy, and I haven’t seen that from Hunnam since “Undeclared”.  It was slightly off-putting.

Anyways, apparently this movie is only sitting at 12% on Rottentomatoes, and the only explanation I can find for that is that the discussion of religion – and a lot of the dismissal of it – turned people off.  I think it’s a well-written, acted and executed film, but clearly not for everyone.

3.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

