The Last Play at Shea (2010)

For some reason, even though I cannot stand watching baseball, baseball-themed movies are always high quality and interesting to me.  It’s the absolute opposite of hockey, as I love the sport and love watching games, but 99% of hockey movies just don’t get it or boil it down to the lowest common denominator of goonism.  The Last Play at Shea attracted my attention because I thought at first it was going to be a baseball doc, and I like documentaries greatly so I was intrigued (I don’t think I like baseball and docs enough to watch Ken Burns’ Baseball though).  Turns out, it’s about the last concert ever performed at the legendary Shea Stadium.

The performer of that concert was Billy Joel, and the movie plays out almost as two docs, with events in the lives of Shea Stadium (I know it is not a living thing) and Joel being shown simultaneously er, well, one after the other.  It’s not a split-screen thing.  Interspersed with that is wonderful historical footage narrated by Alec Baldwin, with interesting factoids throughout.  It’s a pretty powerful and emotional journey, I mean the building was around for 40+ years.  Stuff happened there.

Solid doc, probably all the more enjoyable if you’re a big Billy Joel fan, as in ways it is also a live concert movie.

4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

