X-Men: First Class (2011)

When I first heard that Fox was going to be making a prequel to the mostly quite good X-Men Trilogy (the less said about X3 the better), I was ready to dismiss it without a thought.  Then casting was announced, and some of those decisions got me a bit excited (Jennifer Lawrence in any/every/nothing gets me excited).  Then the reviews came in, which mostly amounted to “well, that was good, I’m … actually surprised” for the most part.  Having just watched it, I will say that it should be the template that any prequel / reboot attempts and – this point may come under contention – it may well be one of the finest comic book movies ever made, damn whatever Ebert said about it.

I have nothing at all bad to say about the movie.  The production design, the execution, the writing, the story, the acting, all top notch and far better than I expected it to be.  I wasn’t a big X-Men fan (DC guy here, which nowadays feels like being a Nintendo Kid), so I don’t go into it being all annoyed about what characters are doing and origins and such, but I know the gist of it.  It is a fun movie that balances action, suspense and storytelling with great performances.  You don’t even need to know that much about the characters or have seen the original Trilogy (not THAT one) to enjoy the movie (I assume).

5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

One Response to X-Men: First Class (2011)

  1. andythesaint says:

    I liked it enough, but it’s hard to not think about how much better it could have been but for a few things, namely if they only had a bit more time to polish it (the production schedule was crazily rushed) and if they abandoned any idea of this being a prequel, and just went straight up reboot. That would’ve freed them up to use more interesting X-characters than the B-listers on screen (minus Xavier and Magneto). Still, it’s nice to have one film that isn’t Wolverine and the X-Men.

Leave a Reply

