Fast Five (2011)

I’m not sure what physics engine director Justin Lin uses when he shoots films, but I move that it be incorporated into “Just Cause 2” because dammit, I couldn’t get that Wrecking Ball trophy no matter how hard I tried.  I am greatly annoyed by The Fast & Furious Franchise, as there is no way I – as a formerly pretentious movie blogger – should be enjoying them, and actually begrudgingly admitting that I’ve been wrong for years.  Fast Five brings back numerous characters from the first four films, as well as injecting The Rock into the proceedings, and holy fuck, it’s actually fun.

Don’t go mistaking my praise for saying this is one of the best films of all time or anything.  This is me saying that it works.  That I am interested in these characters and what adventures they will go on (and if there isn’t a Furiousix in the future, I’ll be shocked) and how many movies could be spun off from these characters.  The Rock has already said that they’re working on a spin-off for his character, Hobbs.  As long as they continue to tweak the formula (Five being more Ocean’s Eleven than The Fast and the Furious), I might actually pay money to see one of them in the future.

4 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

2 Responses to Fast Five (2011)

  1. Matthew says:

    I can’t do these Fast movies. They’re chronologically confusing to me. Like FAST & FURIOUS is actually the third movie in the storyline even though it’s really the fourth one released, right? And the third movie, TOKYO DRIFT, is set *AFTER* this latest one. And that wouldn’t bother me so much if they had stuck to a non-numbered name, but no, they just HAD to stick the word ‘five’ in there, didn’t they?

    Could they not just have done it like this…
    -The Fast & the Furious
    -The Fast & the Furious 2
    -The Fast & the Furious 3
    -The Fast & the Furious 4

    …and so on? It worked for Friday the 13th, goddammit.

    Anyway, IMDB shows May 24, 2013 as the release date of Fast & Furious 6.

    • SkoochXC says:

      I don’t fully understand the reasoning behind it either. I’m not sure if it had something to do with Vin Diesel not working on the 2nd one, finding out his career wasn’t awesome, then coming back for the cameo in Tokyo Drift, then deciding they want to develop that backstory with the Asian (Han?) dude rather than leave it as “mysterious” or what.

Leave a Reply

