Soul Surfer (2011)

I am not a religious person.  At.  All.  I am not going to use this blog to voice any opinions about anything other than movies and occasionally how awesome Corgis are.  Or at least I’m going to try, though movies like Soul Surfer make it very difficult.  I’ll be honest, if I’d have read the description from the Wiki about it (“Soul Surfer is a 2011 Christian drama film”), I probably wouldn’t have ended up watching it at all, despite my feelings about AnnaSophia Robb being a tremendously talented actress.  When it explicitly states that it’s a Christian drama film, I always get the feeling that I’m going to be hammered by Jesus… in a less molesty way.

Anyways, it’s no Blue Crush (but what is, really?), but I might suggest that it a combination of Blue Crush and Fireproof… if I’d have seen Fireproof.  Like I said, I avoid religious movies like the plague.  To me, they’re as fantasy as a Tolkien movie.  OH NO I am talking about religion!  Stop me!  It was alright movie, starring Muppets made out of leather made to look like Dennis Quaid and Helen Hunt.  Kevin Sorbo is also in it, and Craig T. Nelson too, which was making it feel all very Disneyish.

Oh yeah, the movie is a biopic of Bethany Hamilton who lost her left arm in a shark chomping incident back in 2003, when she was 13.  The movie never says how old she was at the time, which is pretty much the only way they could do it with the 17-year-old Robb in the part.  She’s too old to play 13!  Ugh, I feel so old when I see cast listings of the younger versions of whatever character Robb’s playing.  Young Bethany.  *shivers*  Anyways, not my cup of tea, but I will give it points for being alright, though a lot of the associated background players essentially act like cardboard cutouts.  Oh and Carrie Underwood makes her film debut in this.  The less said about it, the better.

2.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

