All About Steve (2009)

You know, I generally don’t have a problem with Sandra Bullock.  She’s a fine enough actress, intelligent, funny, self-deprecating, attractive.  These are all qualities that I find immensely appealing in the opposite sex.  But for the most part she doesn’t act in movies I’m interested in seeing, aside from her prequel to 28 Days Later.  The Proposal was what it was, and The Blind Side is terribly overrated, but still a decent film.

I had heard so many things that were terrible when it comes to All About Steve, that I genuinely had no interest at all in watching it.  Then Bradley Cooper became a star.  Actually, I still wasn’t interested.  I’d say seeing Katy Mixon in “Eastbound & Down” really made me want to see it, but I didn’t even know she was in it until I saw her name in the credits.  Ken Jeong is generally hit or miss, more with the awkward miss lately.  Thomas Haden Church was quite great in Easy A, but even that wasn’t enough to make me interested.

I watched it because of my movieaday thing.  That’s it, that’s the whole thing.  Bullock “won” the Razzie Award for Worst Actress for this movie, the same year she won the Oscar for Best Actress.  I wanted to see if it was really that bad and no, it wasn’t.  It’s not great by any leap of the imagination, but it is far from terrible.  There are some laughs to be found, and the sheer buffoonism of Haden Church is tremendous fun, and if you’re mentally torturing Bradley Cooper, I will enjoy that.

2.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

