Too Big to Fail (2011)

I know next to nothing about the American economic crisis and the why-fors and who-dids in regards to it.  I know it’s bad, so that’s something.  Too Big to Fail is an HBO movie based on the 2008 one, I’m guess the thing that caused everything to be bad.  It has loads of quality actors in it, I mean just look at the ones I tagged.  William Hurt is pretty much the anchor of the movie, and he’s great at what he does.  Actually, pretty much the entire movie is filled with great acting, but there’s nothing that resonates with me.

It’s so filled with detail, financial jargon, and great actors playing real people who I have never heard of, that there’s a disconnect there.  I don’t know how to explain it, but personally, I found that sub-titling every important person with their name and position was distracting because I didn’t care who they were.  If I’m watching a biopic, it doesn’t show “Ray Charles” below Jamie Foxx’s first appearance in the movie.  La Bamba didn’t have subtitles telling me who The Big Bopper and Buddy Holly were, but I guess those are more larger than life characters.  Rather than these hum-drum economy players.

It’s a very well-made film, and the score helps keep everything moving even through the most boring of financial discussions.  Curtis Hanson is a fine director (if you haven’t seen L.A. Confidential yet, immediately find a way to because it is a movie that keeps on giving after each watch) and if all these actors were in less skilled hands, this movie could have easily turned into an expensive mess.  Despite having little to no interest in the subject matter, I enjoyed the movie.

3.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

