The Break-Up (2006)

It’s funny how things change.  I’ve always enjoyed Vince Vaughn as an actor, ever since Swingers and the much less seen Clay Pigeons.  He was a scenery-chewing, intelligent-seeming everyday guy character.  And now, well, the last good thing he was in was Into the Wild.  Since then, it’s been a horrible collection of projects that he declares to be “edgy” and “dark” or different, but just reek of formulaic premises and ham-fisted execution.  The Dilemma?  Didn’t know if it was a comedy or a drama, sucked either way.  Couples Retreat was the biggest waste of comedic talent since, oh I don’t know, some other disappointing movie.  His double pack of Christmas movies – Fred Claus and Four Christmases – equal to about the same kind of joy I have when I get to spend the holidays with family: rarely a laugh to be found.

Also, Jennifer Aniston.  I really want to like you, and generally in movies I don’t have a problem with you, just GET OVER IT.  Seriously.  It sucked, and it was all public, but STOP PLAYING THE PITT CARD.  You are an attractive woman, with decent to great comedic timing and talents, and everything that you can act in co-stars your erect nipples.  Who doesn’t love that?

So this movie, I neither hated it nor loved it.  I kinda liked it, but that might be because I saw the naked outtakes of Aniston.  I’ll probably never watch it again in my life, and nothing about it changed any part of my life.  It was a time-killer, a sometimes decent distraction.  However, I just realised that the horrible wasting of Jason Bateman, Justin Long and John Michael Higgins in their roles?  BAH, these are talented men, do something awesome with them.

2.5 / 5

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

