Take Me Home Tonight (2011)

I grew up in the 80s.  I have a soft spot in my heart for all deliciously juicy 80s movies.  Hell, my favourite Adam Sandler movie (one of three I think) is The Wedding Singer.  Anyone who says that Hot Tub Time Machine wasn’t funny or was terrible can eat a dick, it was tremendously perfect.  So this movie is set in 1988 I believe, and oh man, it is a wonderfully R-rated comedy.  Basically Topher Grace (who had a hand in writing it) stuck to his guns and said “HEY in the 80s EVERYONE was doing cocaine!  I was nine and I was doing it!” and the coke bit(s) is one of the reason this movie sat on the shelves of Universal Studios since 2007.  Then it came out earlier this year and pretty much laid an egg.  Which I’m sure Universal will use as an explanation for the film’s failure as a reason to point out that they can’t sell cocaine, which is true, but also not.

Anyways, I liked it.  It’s not a perfect movie, but it hits a lot of perfect 80s movie moments.  Chris Pratt is great as the typical 80s high society tool, Grace is great as a John Cusack-type, and holy shit I didn’t even realise Audrina Partridge was in the movie.  There’s some good Demetri Martin stuff in there too, and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back and watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 5 – 7 ever again because Michelle Trachtenberg is so deliciously grown up and I do not want to covet Dawn.

3.5 / 5

There are some things on the Wiki about it and here’s an IMDb link too.

About SkoochXC
Long-time blogger, Canadian, cine-snark-aphile, Tweeter and generally lonely hearted guy.

Leave a Reply

